Blog / Athens for first time

Weiterlesen

Kunst, Athen, Athen besuchen

Das Stavros Niarchos Kulturzentrum: Die andere Seite der Promenade

Noch ein sonniger Tag in Athen aber Sie haben bereits genug vom „Altertums-Zeugs“? Wir schlagen Ihnen einen Besuch des jüngst eröffneten zeitgenössischen Architektur Juwels vor.

4 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Romantisches Griechenland, Griechenland besuchen

Die Insel Hydra

Wie ein Stück Felsen, das in die Mitte des Argosaronischen Golf geworfen wurde, liegt die Insel Hydra, weniger als 70 Kilometer von Athen entfernt, unter der Sonne. Unter den Athenern ist sie als romantischer Fluchtort oder für ein entspanntes Wochenende für ihre Schönheit berühmt.

4 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Griechenland, Ägina

Ägina; Athens kleines Geheimnis

Von allen kleineren Inseln im Saronischen Golf, erscheint diese nicht in den Touristenführern; sie ist das kleine Geheimnis der Athener. Nur 35 km vom Stadthafen Piräus entfernt ist die kleine Insel in 40 Minuten mit dem Schnellboot oder in 75 Minuten mit der Fähre erreichbar.

4 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Athen, Athen besuchen

Monastiraki Platz & Monastiraki-Viertel

Es gibt nicht viele Orte, an denen die vielschichtige Kulturenmischung der griechischen Zivilisation so deutlich zum Ausdruck kommt wie am Monasteraki Platz. Dieser liegt nördlich von Plaka, dem traditionellen Viertel unter der Akropolis und gleich neben der geschäftigen Kreuzung der zentralen Straßen, Ermou und Athinas.

3 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Athen, Griechenland, Griechenland besuchen

Autofahren in Griechenland...

...das ist eine harte Nuss. Wir werden versuchen sie über das Befahren griechischer Straßen aufzuklären, ohne sie vom Lenkrad (oder der Lenkstange) zu verscheuchen. Denn letztendlich benötigen sie ein Auto, um viele der attraktiven Sehenswürdigkeiten besuchen zu können.

3 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Griechenland, Ägina

Wandern in Ägina

Anders als die klassischen Ägäischen Inseln mit deren hartgesottenen, steinigen Gelände ist Ägina sehr wanderfreundlich.

2 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Griechenland, Spetses

Die kosmopolitische griechische Insel, die als Geheimtipp unter den Athenern gehandelt wird

Sitzen Sie auf dem Sofa Ihrer airbnb Wohnung und fragen sich, wie Sie die begrenzte Zeit vor der Abreise aus Athen nutzen können? Nun, was wäre, wenn Ihnen jemand sagen würde, dass es gleich um die Ecke einen schnellen, alternativen Ausweg gibt? Es ist eine Insel namens Spetses, die einen konkurrenzlosen Status in Bezug auf die griechische Marinegeschichte hat und vielleicht eine der kosmopolitischsten Inseln des Landes ist.

3 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Athen

Das Koukaki-Viertel

Athen als Ganzes ist eine kulturell aufstrebende Stadt nach Jahren der Rezession. Aber welche Stadtteile tragen diese Transformation auf ihren Schultern? Welche neuen Stadtteile der griechischen Hauptstadt sind wieder zurück in den Kinderschuhen?

2 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Athen besuchen

Herbst in Athen

Der Sommer ist nun vorbei, aber die Entwicklung Athens zu einer zentralen europäischen Drehscheibe für Spaß, Offenheit und Innovation ist auch im Herbst in vollem Gange. Das Wetter bietet immer noch eine helfende Hand beim Spazierengehen und die Sonne der Stadt garantiert, dass Sie Ihre Fotos nicht mit einem Filter versehen müssen, um sie in Ihre Social Media Accounts hochzuladen!

2 Minuten Lesezeit
Weiterlesen

Athen besuchen, Athen

Strände bei Athen

Eine Reise nach Athen ist vor allem mit dem Besuch der Akropolis, dem Erforschen der lokalen kulinarischen Geschmäcker und dem Spaziergang durch die malerischen Straßen von Plaka und Monastiraki verbunden; aber das Genießen des tiefblauen griechischen Wassers steht nicht unbedingt ganz oben auf Ihrer Liste für Ihren Urlaub in Athen.

2 Minuten Lesezeit

Blog / Athens for first time

Read More

Visiting Athens

A city break in Athens

So you threw your dart on the map and it hit Greece, but you only have a weekend to spend in Athens?

5 min read
Read More

Athens with kids, Greece for Families

The top 9 things to do in Athens with kids

Athens with kids & no nagging? Totally doable!

9 min read
Read More

Athens, Visiting Athens

Athens with a View: Up to Lycabettus Hill

It stands in the middle of the city, bearing the same name since the age of Pericles. Lycabettus – in Greek “Lykavitos” –  means “the path of the wolves” or "where the wolves go", indicating it was populated by wild beasts in the distant past.

3 min read
Read More

Athens, Visiting Athens

Athens neighborhoods, off the beaten track

Three must-see places in walking distance from Acropolis and the city’s center.

6 min read
Read More

Art, Athens, Greece, Epidaurus

Athens & Epidaurus Festival

If you enjoy performing arts, and especially theater, this is an opportunity like no other. Visiting Athens and central Greece offers the unique opportunity to experience a theatrical performance at the birthplace of this art-form.

3 min read
Read More

Art, Athens, Visiting Athens

Stavros Niarchos Cultural Centre: (not) just another Day by the Seaside

Got a sunny day in Athens, but you are already fed-up with “ancient” stuff? We got you covered with a modern, state-of-the-art architectural jewel built on top of a park.

4 min read
Read More

Romantic Greece, Visiting Greece

Hydra Island

It is under the sun, a little less than 70 kilometers south of Athens, like a rock thrown in the middle of the Argosaronic Gulf; popular among the Athenians for the perfect romantic getaway or a quiet and relaxing weekend in a soothing place of such beauty.

4 min read
Read More

Greece, Aegina

Aegina; Athens’ laid-back little secret

Of all the little islands in the Saronic gulf, this one is kept off the tourist map as an Athenian’s little secret; a small island just 35 kilometers from Piraeus, covered easily with a 40-minute Flying Dolphin (hydrofoil) ride or a 75-minute trip with a ferry.

3 min read
Read More

Athens, Visiting Athens

Monastiraki Square & Monastiraki Area

There aren’t many places which showcase so perfectly the multi-layered mix of cultures which we call Greek civilization, like Monastiraki square. It is situated north of Plaka, the traditional neighborhood under the Acropolis, and right next to the busy junction of two central streets, Ermou and Athinas.

3 min read
Read More

Athens, Greece, Visiting Greece

Driving in Greece

Well that’s a tough one. We will try to warn you about driving on Greek roads and at the same time not scare you away from the wheel (or handlebars). After all, you will need a car to visit most of the places that are worth seeing.

3 min read
Read More

Athens, Visiting Athens

The Athens Insider’s Heat Wave Survival Guide

So, you want to come to Greece in the summer but you have heard a bunch of stories that revive scenes out of ‘Lawrence of Arabia’ in your mind: you are being baked by the scorching sun, in a barren archeological site, dying of thirst, seeing mirages of oases and ice-cream-offering Karyatides girls, holding iced beer kegs on their heads...

5 min read
Read More

Greece, Aegina

Hiking at Aegina

Unlike the other Aegean islands, with their harsh, forbidding terrain, Aegina is much more hiking-friendly.

2 min read
Read More

Greece, Spetses

The Cosmopolitan Greek Island which Athenians don’t want you to hear about

Are you sitting on the sofa of your airbnb apartment, wondering how to exploit the limited time before leaving Athens? Well, what if someone told you there's a quick, alternative escape just around the corner? It's an island called Spetses, boasting an unrivaled status in terms of Greek Naval History and maybe one of the most cosmopolitan islands in the country.

3 min read
Read More

Athens

Koukaki Area

Athens, as a whole, is a culturally rising city after years of recession. But which neighborhoods carry this transformation on their shoulders? Which new districts of the Greek capital have become nurseries?

2 min read
Read More

Visiting Athens

Autumn in Athens

Summer is now gone but the transformation of Athens as a central European hub for fun, openness and innovation remains in full swing in the fall. The weather is still giving a helping hand for walking and the city’s sun guarantees that your photos will not need to be filtered so as to be uploaded in your social media accounts!

2 min read
Read More

Visiting Athens, Athens

Beaches near Athens

A trip to Athens is mostly associated with visiting the Acropolis, digging into local culinary flavors and strolling through the picturesque streets of Plaka and Monastiraki; but enjoying the deep blue Greek waters isn’t actually at the top of your bucket list for your Athenian holidays.

2 min read